Post Image

Ramadan 2019 – Day 11 : The Three Ashras of Ramadan

Ramadan is a month of fasting, reflection, devotion, generosity and sacrifice observed by Muslims around the world. Over the centuries Ramadan has retained its passionate spiritual meaning. The word “Ramadan” comes from the Arabic word for “Parched Thirst” and “Sun-Baked Ground.” It is meaningful of the hunger and thirst felt by those who spend the month in fasting and get benefits of fasting in the month of Ramadan. Ramadan is by nature a time of sacrifice.

Each year Muslims spend the ninth month of the Islamic calendar observing a community wide fast. The fast of the month of Ramadan considered one of the five pillars of Islam. Muslims who are physically able to required to fast each day of the entire month from sunrise to sunset. The month of Ramadan lasts 29 to 30 days depending on moon sighting and according to narration; Allah Almighty divides the Holy month of Ramadan into three Stages that’s known as Ashra of Ramadan.

Three Ashras of Ramadan

There are three Ashras of Ramadan each one of it has separate Dua. The first stage (Ashra) of Ramadan starts from 1st and end on 10th of Ramadan, the second stage (Ashra) is from 11 to 20th Ramadan, while the third stage (Ashra) is from 21st to 30th Ramadan. First Ashra reflects Mercy of Allah so it is known to be Rehmah. Second Ashra reflects Forgiveness of Allah that’s why it is called as Maghfirah. Third Ashra of Ramadan reflects Safety from the Hell it is known as Nijat.

Ramadan ashras and duas

The month of Ramadan is full of blessings, mercy, and forgiveness for sure. It’s the best opportunity for all the Muslims to collect more blessings of Allah and pray for their forgiveness and to be saved from the Hellfire.

First Ashra of Ramadan (Mercy)

First, ten days of Ramadan are the days of Mercy. Every Muslim must seek the mercy of Almighty Allah in these days. There is a special verse that usually recites Muslims in first ten days.  The Dua for the first Ashra is, Translation: “O! My Lord forgive and have Mercy and You are the Best of Merciful.” The objective of first Ashra is practicing being merciful to other fellow beings by giving charity; the act that Allah loves the most. Treat fellow Muslims well by controlling your temper.

Second Ashra of Ramadan (Forgiveness)

Second Ashra of Ramadan consists of the next ten days; it is the time of forgiveness. These are the days of forgiveness and a Muslim must seek forgiveness from Almighty Allah and repent for all his sins. There is a special verse that usually recites the Muslims in next ten days. The Dua for the second Ashra is, Translation: “I ask forgiveness of my sins from Allah who is my Lord and I turn towards Him.” It’s the time where the forgiveness of Almighty Allah is at its peak, and this is the best time for asking about forgiveness for all the sins from Almighty Allah. Always ask for forgiveness from Almighty Allah in all these days. Do make sure to not repeat the sins after you seek forgiveness.

Third Ashra of Ramadan (Nijat)

Third Ashra of Ramadan starts from 21st and ends 29th or 30th Ramadan according to the moon. Third Ashra is known as Safety from the Hell which means Nijat. At the end of Ramadan is about seeking in Allah Almighty from Hellfire. Every Muslim must pray for the safety of Hellfire. The Last Ashra is very important and superior. In this Ashra Lailatul Qadar also falls which is better than the nights of thousand months. Many Muslims also practice Aitkaf in and try to maximize their prayers. Allah Almighty stated in Holy Quran about Lailatul Qadar: “We sent it (Quran) down on a blessed Night. Verily, We are ever warning. Therein (in that Night) is decreed every matter of ordainment. Amran (i.e. a command or this Quran or His Decree of every matter) from Us. Verily, We are ever sending (the Messenger) (As) a Mercy from your Lord.” (Quran, 44: 3-6)

Post By yashoda